IMAGINE

 

IMAGINE

 

statue of liberty

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses, yearning to breath free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door.

 

TAKE

ruins

Oxford: Remove (someone or something) from a particular place

Merriam-Webster: to get into one’s hands or into one’s possession, power, or control: as

to seize or capture physically

GIVE

credit Hungarian Baptist Aid; Samaritan's Purse works through partner organization Hungarian Baptist Aid to distribute relief items to refugees fleeing the Middle East

Oxford: Freely transfer the possession of (something) to (someone); hand over to

Merriam Webster: to present voluntarily and without expecting compensation; bestow

 

REFUGEE

refugee

Oxford: A person who has been forced to leave their country in order to escape war, persecution, or natural disaster

Merriam-Webster: one that flees; especially: a person who flees to a foreign country or power to escape danger or persecution

REFUGE

welcomed refugees

Oxford: A condition of being safe or sheltered from pursuit, danger, or trouble

Merriam-Webster: shelter or protection from danger or trouble; a place that provides shelter or protection

 

FEAR

bombs syria

Oxford: An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat

Merriam-Webster: to be afraid of (something or someone)

LOVE

cartoon

Oxford: An intense feeling of deep affection; strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties

Merriam-Webster: unselfish loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another; brotherly concern for others

 

TERRORISM

terrorists

Oxford: The use of violence and intimidation in the pursuit of political aims

Merriam-Webster: the systematic use of terror especially as a means of coercion

PEACE

Hama

Oxford: Freedom from disturbance; quiet and tranquility

Merriam-Webster: a state in which there is no war or fighting; freedom from disquieting or civil disturbance

 

SHAME

 mapp

Oxford: A painful feeling of humiliation or distress caused by the consciousness of wrong or foolish behavior

Merriam Webster:  a feeling of guilt, regret, or sadness that you have because you know you have done something wrong

HONOR

 refugees welcome

Oxford: High respect; esteem

Merriam-Webster: good quality or character as judged by other people; high moral standards of behavior

 

 imagine

 

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

John Lennon

 

 

3 thoughts on “IMAGINE

  1. What if we were all just kind to one another? I often think about that, but then, what do you do about the people who take advantage of that and hurt you, or hurt someone you love? I can stand to be hurt, but don’t hurt someone I love, or another being that I love and care for …. I’m not sure I can ever forgive that. Maybe, if there’s some reason that’s real, some condition that somehow explains their reason for hurting …. but not if it’s self interest, greed, or the thirst for power over others.
    I will keep being kind to everyone who accepts it and doesn’t turn it into hurt ….
    But, I’m not good to enough to turn the other cheek when the predisposed intention is to slap it again.
    So there’s the rub. Unless everyone is kind to everyone, then I have the propensity to be unkind to the unkind 😦
    Imagine the possibilities though ……..
    Thank you Sassy Lassy for spreading the good thoughts 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Ed!! Always so happy to hear from you. I struggle with this issue deeply. I want to trust, I want to believe that humans are inherently good but as we know, not all of them are. I cannot imagine, particularly as a mother, having children in tow, losing everything I’ve ever known to terror and violence only to be turned away from receiving help and in many cases, life saving attention for my children. That said, there’s the obvious threat of those sneaking in as refugees with their hearts and souls set on destroying all that we know and love, thus possibly putting us in the very same position. However, when it comes down to it, I have to choose good over and evil and try, at least try, to believe that we as humans are good, that these scared and frightened souls should be helped.

    I can’t say I’m not apprehensive and if I’m being totally honest, downright scared at the possibilities of opening our country to possible acts of pure evil and terrorism.

    I hear you loud and clear, my friend.

    Thank you, as always, for reading and commenting.

    Love to you both and all my probably now getting furry friends ❤

    Like

    1. I strongly believe we should be putting out the welcome mat and extending the olive branch … and being as compassionate as we can be in our due diligence. We should not slam the door shut.
      And yes, your friends are all getting furry! We spent some time in the sunshine with them yesterday, brushing, stroking and communing ….. they were lining up for their turn and a piece of the attention. They are so special ❤
      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours … and to both of your proud to be Momma's Boys 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

