My Dragon, My Darkness and Me

Weren’t you just here yesterday?
How quickly the memory has faded away
A lightning bolt shot straight through my heart
A spectacular flash and now there’s just dark

Was it real or just a wide-awake slumber?
Did you have to call me out from the rock I was under?
It was cozy and warm I had all I could need
My scars were all healed and now they all bleed

It was fun, I admit, I had forgotten the sun
And I answered your call when I knew I should run
It only took seconds before you were my muse
I let go for a moment and misread the cues

But the sun it will set and night’s veil will fall
And in darkness is comfort it’s where my demons call
They beckon like lovers that are far and away
Wishing their flesh spoke the words they would say

Pity me not, I embrace every shadow
I dance in that space where hot embers glow
Moonlight bathes me in cool breathless beams
It’s where I concoct the words from my dreams

So next time you beckon I may not come play
I’ll be off with Puff sailing far, far away
Honah Lee was a drag and cramping his style
And Little Jackie a selfish and quite bratty child

So I told Puff to stop crying those green scales of rain
Hold my hand, take a leap, and leave that Isle of Pain
Neither of us will be home if you happen to knock
We’ll be living together in our swank carved out rock

I’m just sure you were real I can still feel you near
I thought I might save you from your self-imposed fear
But alas, you live in a world of decrees
With no room for my dragon, my darkness or me

You’ll think of me fondly and miss me I know
But we had our moment and basked in its glow
I must away, it’s beginning to hail
I’m catching a flight on Puff’s magic tail

7 thoughts on “My Dragon, My Darkness and Me

Leave a Reply

